top of page

What's in my bag?


Every photographer needs their tried-and-true gear. In this blog, I'll talk about what photography equipment I use, the equipment every professional should have, and where to buy photography equipment (even on a budget — holla!).



Cameras

Like I mentioned in the video, my Nikon D850 is my baby! It's such an amazing camera! I pair it with the Sigma 35mm F1.4 ART lens and it creates magical results.


Nikon D850 ($2,796)


Sigma 35mm F1.4 ART ($667)


My backup camera is my Nikon D5600. I used this camera for YEARS! It's very special to me and it is a GREAT camera! I love combining it with my Nikon 50mm lens, especially for portraits!


Nikon D5600 ($669)


Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G ($176)

*If you can afford it, go for the f/1.4 version. This lens is amazing, you won't regret it!


Memory Cards

The second thing you need as a photographer (after owning a camera) are memory cards so you can actually take pictures. One thing that took me a little while to figure out is that there are different QUALITIES of memory cards. You want a card with a super fast processing time, or else you'll be stuck waiting for the photos to transfer to your card. And during that time, you won't be able to take photos. That's a big thumbs down in my book! Here are the cards I recommend:


XQD Card (needed for the Nikon D850)

Sony 120GB G Series XQD Memory Card ($197)


SD Card (can be used with almost any camera)

Transcend 32GB Class 10 SDHC ($13.79)


Backpack

This isn't exactly the same backpack I have, but it's pretty similar. The biggest things to look for in a photography backpack:

1. Is it comfortable?

2. Will it keep my gear safe?


Zecti Camera Backpack ($76.99)


Camera Equipment

To save your back and neck, and just make your job a little easier!


Camera Strap

USA Gear DSLR Camera Strap ($14.99)


Lens Cap Holder

5 pcs Altura Photo Lens Cap Keeper Holder ($6.89)


Camera Belt

Powerextra Utility Outdoor Photography Adjustable Waist Strap Belt ($12.99)


Powerextra 4x Zipper Lens Case Lens Pouch Bag ($21.99)


Lighting

You won't always have that perfect, golden hour lighting for every photoshoot. Sometimes you will be in a dark ballroom for a wedding reception, where the only lighting are candles on the tables and a disco ball in the corner. Instead of panicking, BE PREPARED! Never go to a photoshoot without additional lighting. I really like:


Newer Ultra Bright Mini LED Video Light ($16.99)


Business Stuff

Because your job doesn't stop at the photoshoot...


Business Card Holder ($5.99)


Blue Light Filtering Glasses ($16.95)




 

Want to know more about Bethany?

Meet the owner of BB Photography AZ here.


52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page