top of page

4 Tips to Recover from Burnout



Burnout. Sadly, it is way more common than it should be. Every day we are faced with the societal pressures to succeed, the compelling need to pack our schedules and keep busy, the endless demands of jobs, families and lifestyle routines. While many of these are positive and often healthy things, they can easily become stressors when we begin piling them on without leaving room for "self."


And that, my friends, leaves us in the danger zone for burnout.


Burnout is when you "just can't" any longer. Your anxiety is through the roof, your motivation is nonexistent, your sleep sucks. It becomes a fight to get through the day. Even the things you most loved now spark no interest. This term is particularly used in reference to your profession.


That's what happened to me a couple years ago. Long story short, I was working a crazy demanding job, on top of other stressors in my life, and I got to the point where I just couldn't do it anymore. After more than 10 years of being a newspaper reporter, I was just done.


It's a process, recovering from burnout — a process that will look different for everyone. But here is some things that helped me get back to a good place in my life.


1. Unplug

Technology can be a ferocious beast set on destruction. Getting sucked into the comparison trap that is social media, enduring never-ending work days because of email notifications that bombard our phones, and the blue light omitting from our phones that help keep our brains on constant overdrive. All of these things take a toll on our mental, spiritual, and physical health. The best thing you can do for yourself when experiencing burnout is to PUT THE PHONE DOWN! Turn off the TV, set your laptop aside, and unplug from all the screen distractions.


2. Get Outside

Now that you have the phone down, go outside. I truly believe that immersing yourself in nature is one of the most healing things for the soul. Don't put your headphones in and drown out the quiet. Embrace the silence. It may be awkward or hard to do at first, but it is so calming and so rewarding.


*Bonus: Knock off both items one and two and go for a camping trip in an area that doesn't have cell phone service! You won't regret it!


3. Talk to Someone

I am a firm believer that therapy is for everyone, no matter what stage of life you're in or what situation you're facing. Therapy has gotten me through some pretty rough times, and I am forever grateful for everything I learned in those sessions. If anything, it's is just nice to be able to talk to someone who is a complete outsider to your life and get a new perspective.


4. Reevaluate your Situation

When I experienced my greatest burnout, I knew it was time for a change. I could not be productive in my job, I could not "earn my keep." At this point, I was so mentally and physically exhausted that I could barely string two words together, let alone fill content for an entire newspaper.


I really had to take a step back and look at where I was and where I wanted to be. And don't get me wrong, this isn't easy. In fact, it's terrifying. Especially if you have bills to pay and mouths to feed. But for me, it was worth the risk. And I'm so glad I made the change!


For those of you who have experienced burnout, what helped you recover?

13 views0 comments
bottom of page